matrimony - marriage - life partner sms - matrimony contact mobile no - sms my profile id - sms life partner id


Help to protect childhood, Save Children's Lives - UNICEF


Kittentanx Cattery Comments   

Posted :Tuesday, December 13, 2011by Kittentanz buyers Send Maill  Tell a Friend

Comments by Kittentanz Buyers

Hello, my name is Michael and I came across your blog entry while doing a search for articles related to FIP and kittens sold from the Kittentanz cattery. I too bought a kitten from them that had FIP and recently had to put him to sleep. I realize that your post is a few years old but I was wondering if you had heard from any other pet owners regarding sick cats from Kittentanz. I was also wondering how the process of dealing with them after the cats death was, or any other information that you'd be willing to share with me. Thank you very much for your time.
Posted by: Michael | 18 April 2010 at 08:50 PM

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Michael, Same story...we just received a diagnosis of FIP from our vet 2 weeks ago for a kitten we bought from Kittentanz a few months ago. We are just starting the dialog with them regarding his health...Our kitten is still a lively addition to our home but we are sickened with what the future has in store for him.
Posted by: Lori | 14 May 2010 at 08:07 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kittentanz Review, Kittentanz Disease, Kittentanz Reputation, The above words were place so that people who are searching for Kittentanz (without keyword FIP) can find these posts.
Posted by: Lost my cat | 18 September 2010 at 11:53 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I lost a kitten from Kittentanz with FIP also. He said he would replace the kitten in the spring but after reading these and other posts I'm not sure if that is a good idea.
Posted by: sad kitten owner | 10 November 2010 at 11:28 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The owner told me he sells 400 kittens a year. My Vet calls this place a kitty mill. It seems as if it's a breeding ground for FIP.
Posted by: sad kitten owner | 10 November 2010 at 11:31 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I, too, bought two kittens from Kittentanz, male and female balinese. The male contracted FIP at 14 months and died last week. I wrote the owner. No repsponse. I have since spoken with other Balinese breeders around the country. They are not surprised. I would never buy a kitten from them. They keep them locked up in cages all their life if they're not sold. It is a kitten mill.
Posted by: Linda | 20 November 2010 at 02:00 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I just bought a kitten from Kittentanz. I was told he was a 12 week old Applehead Siamese. He is actually 15 weeks old and is what most breeders would consider Classic Siamese (more triangular head, longer sleeker body, finer boned). He is extremely sweet, but I am very concerned and am not sure where to go from here. I had an extensive, very unpleasant conversation with Kittentanz--was shouted at, told I was "illogical", "evil", told to sue them, etc.
Posted by: sue | 05 December 2010 at 06:23 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Please use the following link to contact the Georgia Department of Agriculture with your complaints about Georgia kittens with FIP: http://www.agr.georgia.gov/portal/site/AGR/menuitem.2f54fa407984c51e93f35eead03036a0/?vgnextoid=0bfc733860a06210VgnVCM100000bf01020aRCRD
Posted by: Tommywantstoknow | 06 December 2010 at 07:28 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I dropped in unannounced to visit Kittentanz in November 2010 when I was in the Atlanta area and found an exceptionally clean cattery with healthy kittens and *****s. The cages were spacious. No urine or feces smell. Kittens were rotated to have play time time outside the cages and were social and not fearful. While the owners may deal in volume this was in stark contrast to a home breeder in Phoenix that I bought my Tonkinese from whose house reeked of urine and who kept her cats and kittens in dog crates. The owners of Kittentanz were personable and helpful and I will not hesitate to purchase my next kitten from them.
Posted by: LisaS | 19 March 2011 at 08:53 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
While I was displeased that they refused to pay Jasper's vet bills, I was grateful that they did replace Jasper with another kitten that my daughter promptly named "Delilah."
Posted by: True Religion Outlet | 28 March 2011 at 07:00 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
We also had a kitten from Kittentanz that died of FIP. They did replace the kitten but the experience was not pleasant. We will not buy from them again.
Posted by: Julie | 01 April 2011 at 08:01 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Life is on its way to further complications, further deepness and mystery, further processes of becoming and change.
Posted by: cheap jordan retro | 15 May 2011 at 07:33 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I bought a kitten from Kittentanz. He arrived sick. I took him to my vet and he was diagnosed with FIP. He became so ill during the next 6 weeks that I had to put him to sleep. Kittentanz did not pay for my diagnostic vet expenses. It was heartbreaking and devastating for me and my family. I purchased a 2nd kitten from Kittentanz years later, in Aug. 2010 (thinking it couldn't possibly happen again...) My kitten, Milo, is 1 year old now, and suddenly became ill. 5/27/11 my vet has just diagnosed him with FIP. We need to ban together and do something about this cattery. It is reprehensible for Kittentanz to continue to breed sick cats. Please respond to Nicole.
Posted by: Nicole in NY | 02 June 2011 at 08:48 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Contact Nicole in NY nnrednick@aol.com Posted by: Nicole in NY | 03 June 2011 at 06:15 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I also purchased a kitten from Kittentanz that died from FIP. Her name was Sophie and she was a 30th birthday present from my mom. I live in New Jersey, so Sophie was shipped from Georgia to me. She arrived in July of 2009 and was an absolute joy from the moment I held her. Sophie quickly became my baby...she was always by my side.

In January of 2010 I learned I was pregnant. I was nervous Sophie would have a hard time adjusting to the new baby, so I put down a deposit to get Sophie a brother from Kittentanz. I was so excited for this newest arrival to our family, especially since this new kitten was from the same two parents as Sophie

Then in April 2010, Sophie stopped wanting to eat and began losing weight very quickly. I took her to the vet. She was diagnosed with FIP and passed away shortly after. She was a little over a year old.

I was completely devastated. My mom was the one to deal with Kittentanz reguarding Sophie's death and their policy that kittens are "100% healthy". They offered to give me the new kitten that I put a deposit down on for free, but I declined. I could not go through losing another kitten again. In the end (after many uncomfortable phone calls with Kittentanz, and threatening legal action) they refunded the cost of Sophie. They did not however reimburse the shipping cost ($250) or the vet bill ($1200). After reading other posts, it makes me ill that this company is still selling kittens. I would not buy another cat from them, and I certainly would not recommend them to anyone.
Posted by: Meredith | 05 June 2011 at 09:45 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I live in GA and checked out the cattery this past weekend... The smell was awful. All the cats and kittens were in cages. We came to look at kittens for my sons birthday. I wanted to see what they had available in the Tonkinese. My son fell in love with a Burmese kitten... but I wanted to do some research first on the cattery and pricing before putting a deposit down. I am so glad I came across this page. The prices of the cats are very high not mention the cats are confined to cages most of the day. Its really sad. Its no way for an animal to live. If you are looking for a pure breed go elsewhere.... there are lots of breeders who raise the kittens in their own home. I would do tons of research before getting a new kitten. Most breeders are willing to help especially the ones who have a good reputation.
Posted by: Kelly | 20 June 2011 at 01:06 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kittentanz (Michelle Harrison) just sold our kitten out from under us, even though I gave them a $200 deposit on our kitten. I am heartbroken and my children are upset, as it was to replace our beloved 11 yr. old cat Mango, who died Easter morning!

They first made us wait until the (kitten) was 4 months old to pick it up. Then, due to moving expenses and heart problems, I was unable to make the trip to Atlanta/ Jasper GA on the designated day.

Michelle Harrison called demanding the rest of the $800 for a kitten I hadn't even seen yet in person, only in one single photo.

I offered to pay her half ($300), and half when I came to pick him up.That wasn't good enough. She was screaming at me and my daughter saying she had all kinds of debts, and was overdrawn at her bank, and needed the money immediately or she would sell our kitten to someone else!!!

We tried to reason with her, but she hung up and gave away our cat which we had already named 'Miaji' She is refusing to give us our $200 deposit back either. They are a rip off!! And now i learn of all you poor folks having your kittens die, some even after a year of being attached to them. How cruel and heart braking!

Her Karma must surely be coming for her soon i imagine!!!!!!
Posted by: Michelle March | 02 July 2011 at 12:12 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Here is an update to this blog post I wrote back in 2006. Delilah is now a healthy mature cat. We've recently had her checked for FIPs and she remains clean. A few months ago my wife decided it was time to bring another kitten into our family. After months of searching, researching, and pondering she decided to buy a Balinese from a cattery in Wisconsin. The many heartbreaking comments all of you have shared about Kittentanz were a factor in that decision.
Posted by: Rick Kahler | 02 July 2011 at 01:26 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
but she hung up and gave away our cat which we had already named 'Miaji' She is refusing to give us our $200 deposit back either.
Posted by: Nike Air Max BW | 09 August 2011 at 01:42 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
but she hung up and gave away our cat which we had already named
Posted by: nike air max 90 | 12 August 2011 at 06:56 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I have purchased 3 cats from this cattery. The first one died of FIP. While I was upset, I understood that this is NATURE, not the fault of Kittentanz. Both of my current cats are from Kittentanz and without any health issues (one was a replacement for the kitty I lost, another we purchased). They were completely professional and the cats were treated well (we went there no less than 6 times - all but 2 unanounced - and the cats were well taken care of with no more smell than should be expected when you have 50-75 cats in a room together). I understand that people get emotional over the loss of their cats. We sure did. But we also used our heads and realized that these people didn't make our kitty sick... nor could they have prevented it, since FIP lays dormant in ALL cats, and no one is 100% certain what makes it become active, nor is there any vaccine that can prevent it from doing so. Kittentanz did all that they could do... they apologized, empathized with us and replaced the kitten at no charge. For those of you upset at this cattery, you may want to take a long look in the mirror and realize that sometimes in life, there really is no one to blame.
Posted by: Derrick | 24 August 2011 at 01:44 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Doing research on Kittentanz, glad I did. The last poster, Derrick, is wrong about FIP. Having an FIP outbreak is obviously a risk in any cattery with multiple cats, but responsible breeders stop breeding after an FIP outbreak. FIP infection is a sign of overcrowding at that cattery and possible inbreeding as well. See http://home.earthlink.net/~sarsenstone/fip.html The fact that Kittentanz continues to sell cats that might carry FIP is reprehensible.
Posted by: Adrienne | 26 August 2011 at 08:53 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I sympathize with anyone who has lost a kitty. I bought my male there 18 months ago and have had no problems to date. He is a real lover and I hope he has continued good health.
Posted by: Ryan | 26 August 2011 at 11:18 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I was recently contacted by Kittentanz. They now claim they have begun testing their kittens for the coronavirus/FIP; they claim that all their current kittens are negative. I hope this is true, but would suggest anyone buying a Kittentanz kitten consider having it tested by their own vet. If Kittentanz really has stopped breeding kittens who carry this virus, then independent verification should not be a problem.
Posted by: sue | 08 September 2011 at 05:36 AM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Dear Rick, This is Michelle Harrison of Kittentanz.
I never posted a comment before because you gave a fair and accurate accounting of your family's loss and our response. I did not pay your vet bills because I believe that Jasper contracted corona virus after leaving our home, probably from your pet sitter. As you know, I do stand behind my kittens and either replace or refund their purchase price.

I am writing now because others have posted comments including inaccurate information and even slander. FIP is a bigger problem than just in Kittentanz kittens. Many vets have never seen FIP before and get their FIP info from reference books or online sites which are out of date because the virus has changed. These vets have no idea that they are watching an epidemic unfold. I am providing my summary below in plain language and also a link to up to date information posted by Dr. Hines, a PhD researcher who is a veterinarian. http://www.2ndchance.info/fip.htm

Corona virus is like the flu. It can be caught indirectly from contact with hands and clothes that have touched sick animals. Cats catch it, get over it, and can catch it again. Generally, only very old or young cats get very sick. Corona virus has infected most indoor only cats at least once in their lives, but until lately it seldom caused serious illness.

Recently, more deadly corona virus infections began killing more purebred and mixed kittens and young cats from coast to coast. A 2004 UC Davis study in California found 90% of young mixed cats were actively infected with corona virus! The spread of a strain (in rural mixed cats, not cattery cats) causing many more than expected deaths from FIP was confirmed in Washington DC in 2004 to 2006.

Dr. Pederson, a leading FIP researcher, stated in 2009 that corona virus is now the leading infectious cause of death in young cats living in the US. One reason for this is that deaths from Distemper and Feline Leukemia have been greatly reduced through vaccination, but there is no effective corona virus vaccine.

Primucell FIP is the only feline corona virus vaccine, and this vaccine only prevents 1 out of 4 cases caused by one strain. Corona virus changes rapidly, so there are many strains. Primucell is useless against other strains. Furthermore, the manufacturer could show NO protection at all in kittens vaccinated younger than 4 months of age.

Thus, Kittentanz can't vaccinate to keep our kittens and cats from becoming infected with corona virus. We are committed to providing the healthiest kittens possible, and we responded to the increased threat of FIP from the new, more dangerous corona virus strains by taking other actions to protect our customers and our kittens.

In 2011 we began keeping kittens here until they are at least 4 months old, when their immune systems are better able to protect them from corona virus infection. Our customers frequently have other pets, and many of those pets will have had a recent corona infection. Most customers will take their new kitten to the vet, where there are sick cats! Keeping kittens here protects them from becoming infected until they are ready to protect themselves.

We reduced our kittens' exposure to infectious disease by requiring visiting customers who have pets to wear clean protective coats and gloves when handling our older kittens. We no longer allow customers to handle young kittens or breeding cats.

Finally, our vet began purchasing Speed F Corona test kits which identify antibodies to corona virus in just 20 minutes even at very low levels not detected with standard testing such as the common “Send Away” Antech test. Every Kittentanz kitten is tested before neuter/spay surgery. Kittentanz also tests our breeding cats prior to breeding every litter. Kittentanz breeds only corona virus negative cats and sells only corona negative kittens, and we can prove it.

We stand by our Health Guarantee even when we are not at fault. We cannot make the death of a cherished pet easier to take, but we replace or refund kittens. We do not pay non pre-approved vet fees, but if customers follow our guarantee requirements, we stand by it. Here is a copy of our Guarantee provided with every kitten sold since 1995:

“Our kittens are guaranteed to be in good health at the time and date of sale. Your kitten has been seen by a Vet and given a clean bill of health. In order for us to guarantee your kitten, we require you to have your kitten examined by your vet within 3 working days of the date of sale. If a health problem is found and confirmed by our vet, we will treat the kitten at our vet at our expense or replace the kitten. Charges incurred at your Vet are your responsibility unless there is a prior arrangement. Non pre-approved charges will not be covered under this guarantee.”

Note that the commentors’ vets confirmed the health of their kittens. If the vet did not find a problem, then we certainly could not predict it. In the past, a Vet exam was the best we could do. Our new testing policy now identifies any at risk kittens and we do not sell them until they have recovered.
Posted by: Kittentanz Cattery | 18 October 2011 at 03:13 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Next » Anyone interested in information about the coronavirus/FIP should be able to get it from their local vet, not from a cattery interested in selling them a kitten. The Kittentanz kitten I purchased from the Harrisons tested positive for the cornonavirus/FIP. As she did in the posting above, Michelle Harrison also tried to accused me of infecting the kitten. However, the blood tests I had done definitively show that the kitten was shipped already infected with the virus, and that he subsequently also infected my other cat. I wish I had known about this situation before I had purchased a kitten from them.
Posted by: sue | 30 October 2011 at 02:46 PM
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cat Breeder   United States   comments

Dear Friends, Dont forget to bookmark and submit your complaint to social media websites listed here.It will bring more visibility, buzz and fast action to attend your complaint

Comments  :

642 days ago by Jack Quick   [ Send Maill ]

I bought a Tonkinese female in 11/09 and another in 4/10 from Kittentanz. Both wonderful cats, no health problems at all. Would not hesitate to purchase again. With regard to their operation I have seen puppy mills and kitty mills that would make you sick, but Kittentanz, during my visits, was clean, and virtually odor free. the kittens got regular exercise, good care, and were well socialized. No one is perfect, but I think these people are being unfairly bashed.

770 days ago by Thomas   [ Send Maill ]

I bought two beautiful Siamese Appleheads (brother and sister) from them 4 years ago. The owners were wonderful to deal with. I actually wanted the sister and a different male kitty, but the owners told me that she had a brother (who did not have a picture posted on the page) and that they were inseparable. They felt they needed to stay together. The male was not listed because he had show quality "defects." Kinked tail. Cross-eyed. I was happy because to me these are not defects, these are REAL Siamese. And, I do not show cats, so I could care less. Spencer is beautiful and his little sister is too. They are both happy and healthy. And completely inseparable. Thank you Kittentanz.

1041 days ago by Cathy Brack   [ Send Maill ]

I wanted to say that I purchased two Tonkinese and one traditional Siamese 14-15 years ago. All were healthy and lived long lives. One is currently 14 and healthy. Two years ago, I purchased two more Tonkinese kittens. They are active, playful, and very healthy. I would recommend their kittens to anyone.

 Comments will be published Only after Moderation

Post Your Comment :

Name

required, use real name

Email

required, will not be published

Website Address

optional, will not be published

Your attitude towards Complaint

 Agree   Neutral   Disagree

Confirmation Code

Consumer Complaints

Submit Complaint

Your Full Name

Your E-Maill Address

Your E-maill will be invisible to others

Company/Product Name

Subject of Complaint

Select Category

Select Country

Complaint Details

Attach Photos ( Optional )

Confirmation Code


Recently discussed

Worst Complaints

Complaints with most comments

Categories

Countries